Site header
RSS feed

Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell season 1

Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell season 1 poster
7 episodes (2078 views)

Air weekdate:Sunday Cast:Bertie Carvel, Eddie Marsan, Marc Warren, Enzo Cilenti, Alice Englert, Paul Kaye, Vincent Franklin, John Heffernan, Samuel West, Edward Hogg, Brian Pettifer, Lucinda Dryzek, Ariyon Bakare, Charlotte Riley Genre:Drama, Fantasy Channel:BBC One Status:Ended

8.4 (11 votes)

Events series takes place in the nineteenth century, when was the height of the Napoleonic Wars. It was here, in England, in this period, such a thing, as magic, leaves in the section of theoretical disciplines. Wizards, inhabiting England, became interested in the history of the lost handicraft . They were busy reading lecturing each other about these stories. They collected all the necessary information in the archives . All of this happening before in the capital of England did not appear Mr Norrel. About him say that he is an unpleasant gentleman recluse. He came here from a distant province. Rumor has it that Mr Norrel developed in itself a science which is considered dead. Here in London, he begins his collaboration with a local high society and the government. With his appearance begins a series of unexpected and tragic events.

Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell season 1 episodes list:

Episode #1: The Friends of English Magic (air date: 2015-05-17)

Mr Norrell travels to London from Yorkshire to offer the government his services as a magician. Sir Walter Pole though refuses to align himself with such a disrespectable art as magic. After Sir Walter's sickly fiancée passes away, Mr Norrell makes a dangerous pact with a mysterious Gentleman to restore her to life. Jonathan Strange discovers that he also has magical powers.

Episode #2: How Is Lady Pole? (air date: 2015-05-24)

Mr Norrell's magical illusions manage to baffle the French Navy and secure him the loyalty of Sir Walter Pole. Some magic he has used to revive Lady Pole has released something unnatural into Sir Walter's home. Jonathan Strange's magical ability increases and he travels to London take up an apprenticeship with Mr Norrell.

Episode #3: The Education of a Magician (air date: 2015-05-31)

Jonathan Strange travels to Spain. Mr Norrell is attempting to keep his secrets hidden in London.

Episode #4: All the Mirrors of the World (air date: 2015-06-07)

Norrell's refusal to let Strange study ancient magic causes a split between them.

Episode #5: Arabella (air date: 2015-06-14)

Strange returns home a hero after helping to win the Battle of Waterloo, and resolves to write a book on ancient magic - to Norrell's horror. Strange's hopes for the future are shattered by a tragedy in his life, and following a confrontation with Norrell, he flees the country, determined to learn the truth about the fairy world - even if doing so costs him his sanity.

Episode #6: The Black Tower (air date: 2015-06-21)

Strange is determined to learn the secrets of fairy magic so he can restore Arabella. Believing madness is the key to accessing the fairy world, he seeks a way to drive himself insane. However, the Gentleman does not take kindly to the intrusion into his realm, and unleashes a terrible curse to stop him. Norrell's determination to maintain control of all magic in England costs him dearly when the government turns against him, and Vinculus offers Stephen a means to escape from the Gentleman's clutches.

Episode #7: Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell (air date: 2015-06-28)

England is plunged into chaos as ancient magical forces are unleashed. Norrell flees to the safety of his library, but is pursued by Strange who intends to free Arabella before the Gentleman's curse consumes him. Childermass tries to find a way to save Lady Pole, as Stephen is drawn deeper into the sinister world of the Fairy kingdom.

Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell season 1 promo


Sign In

Sign in using your registered account:
Don't have an account? Sign Up

Sign Up

Please fill the form bellow:
Already have an account? Sign In