Site header
RSS feed

Wolf Hall season 1

Wolf Hall season 1 poster
6 episodes (6180 views)
Air weekdate:Wednesday
Cast:Anton Lesser, Damian Lewis, Tom Holland, Jessica Raine, Bernard Hill, Mark Rylance, Charity Wakefield, Ed Speleers, Claire Foy, Joanne Whalley, Harry Lloyd, Mark Gatiss, Kate Phillips, Thomas Brodie-Sangster, Jonathan Pryce
Genre:Drama, History
Channel:BBC Two
8.9/10(267 votes)

These mini-series represent an adaptation of Hilary Mantel’s novels “Wolf Hall” and “Bring up the Bodies” about Thomas Cromwell. The episodes show us the times when the king Henry VIII ruled the British Empire. Reign of Henry VIII was one of the most memorable in the history of England. The sovereign’s fortune, who changed six wives and distinguished himself as one with an unstable psyche doesn’t leave filmmakers indifferent to this very day. Nevertheless in his adaption of historical events Peter Cosminsky made a protagonist not just Henry VIII bit his main assistant and counselor Thomas Cromwell. Under the influence of this powerful and ambitious man all the laws were issued and all the important affaires were managed. Make a journey back in times of religious wars, cabals, takes-over and intrigues. You will certainly be impressed by miscellaneous plot twists, wonderful live action and lavish costumes of the Henry VIII’s age.

Wolf Hall season 1 episodes list:

Episode #1: Three Card Trick (air date: 2015-01-21)

Thomas Cromwell's patron Cardinal Wolsey is dismissed as lord chancellor and forced to flee his palace at York Place. The old noble families of England, jealous of their own right to advise the king, have long waited for this moment. His hopes of returning to the king's favour lie with the ever-loyal Thomas Cromwell.

Episode #2: Entirely Beloved (air date: 2015-01-28)

Cardinal Wolsey has been forced out of court to travel north to his archdiocese in York. For Thomas Cromwell, this is only a tactical retreat; in time the cardinal will regain the King's favour. Wolsey urges Cromwell to find a way to get close to Anne Boleyn for she is the key to persuading the King to restore him.

Episode #3: Anna Regina (air date: 2015-02-04)

Although he has no official title, Cromwell is relied on more and more in the running of the king's affairs. Cromwell manoeuvres a bill through Parliament acknowledging Henry rather than the pope as head of the Church of England. This is the first step in Cromwell's plan for Henry to grant his own divorce from Katherine of Aragon.

Episode #4: The Devil's Spit (air date: 2015-02-11)

Anne gives birth to a baby girl, Elizabeth, and Henry does little to hide his disappointment. Anne is aware that her power in court rests on producing a male heir and in her paranoia cracks appear in her relationship with Cromwell.

Episode #5: Crows (air date: 2015-02-18)

The Act of Supremacy has declared Henry supreme head of the church in England. But the Holy Roman Emperor, and his ambassador, Eustache Chapuys, have refused to recognise either his new title or his marriage to Anne Boleyn.

Episode #6: Master of Phantoms (air date: 2015-02-25)

Anne accuses Cromwell of betrayal when she finds out he tried to protect Mary and not Elizabeth at a time of crisis. But Anne's power is dissolving rapidly and her enemies are gathering.

Wolf Hall season 1 promo


Sign In

Sign in using your registered account:
Don't have an account? Sign Up

Sign Up

Please fill the form bellow:
Already have an account? Sign In